[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14 [R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No.85]

CHENNAI, THURSDAY, MARCH 30, 2017 Panguni 17, Thunmugi, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2048

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S NOTIFICATION REGARDING EXIT POLL AT THE BYE-ELECTION TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 11. DR. RADHAKRISHNAN NAGAR ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY.

No. SRO G-6/2017.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 24th March, 2017 [3 Phalguna, Saka (1938)] is published:-

No.576/EXIT/ECI/LET/FUNC/JUD/Vol.II/2017:- Whereas, the schedule for the Bye-Elections to the House of the People and to Legislative Assemblies in the States of Assam, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, NCT of Delhi, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal has been announced by the Commission *vide* Press Note No. ECI/PN/24/2017, dated 9th March, 2017.

2. And whereas, as per the provisions of Section 126A of the R.P. Act, 1951, there shall be restrictions on conduct of any exit poll and publication and dissemination of result of such exit poll during such period as may be notified by the Election Commission in this regard;

3. Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers under sub-section (1) of Section 126A of the R.P. Act, 1951, the Election Commission, having regard to the provisions of sub-section (2)(b) of the said Section, hereby notifies the period between **7.00 A.M. on 09-04-2017 (Sunday) and 6.30 P.M. on 12-04-2017 (Wednesday),** as the period during which conducting any exit poll and publishing or publicizing by means of the print or electronic media or dissemination in any other manner whatsoever, the result of any exit poll in connection with the said bye-elections announced *vide* the Commission's Press Note No. ECI/PN/24/2017, dated 9th March, 2017 from

2-Srinagar PC, 3-Anantnag PC in Jammu & Kashmir, 6-Malappuram PC in Kerala, 113-Dhemaji(ST) AC in Assam, 36-Bhoranj(SC) AC in Himachal Pradesh, 09-Ater AC & 89-Bandhavgarh (ST)AC in Madhya Pradhesh, 216-Kanthi Dakshin AC in West Bengal, 79-Dholpur AC in Rajasthan, 214-Nanjangud (SC) AC & 224-Gundlupet AC in Karnataka, 11-Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar AC in Tamil Nadu, 04-Litipara(ST)AC in Jharkhand, 28-Upper Burtuk AC in Sikkim, 27-Rajouri Garden AC in NCT of Delhi, shall be prohibited.

4. It is further clarified that under Section 126(1)(b) of the R.P. Act, 1951, displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours ending with the hours fixed for conclusion of poll for the aforesaid bye-elections.

(By Order)

K.F. WILFRED, Principal Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 30th March, 2017. RAJESH LAKHONI, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

2