

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 32]

CHENNAI, THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 5, 2015 Thai 22, Jaya, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2046

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

DIRECTION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S DIRECTION SPECIFYING THAT THE VOTES AT THE BYE-ELECTION TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 139. SRIRANGAM ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY SHALL BE GIVEN AND RECORDED BY MEANS OF VOTING MACHINES.

No. SRO G-5/2015.

The following Direction of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 2nd February, 2015 is published:—

No. 576/3/EVM/2015/SDR-Vol. I:—Whereas, Section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, provides that the giving and recording of votes by Voting Machines in such manner as may be prescribed, may be adopted in such constituencies as the Election Commission of India may, having regard to the circumstances of each case specify; and

- 2. Whereas, the Commission has considered the circumstances in 14-Bangaon (SC) Parliamentary Constituency of West Bengal and 27-Liromoba (ST) Assembly Constituency of Arunachal Pradesh, 11-Panaji Assembly Constituency of Goa, 139-Srirangam Assembly Constituency of Tamil Nadu, 88-Krishnaganj (SC) Assembly Constituency of West Bengal, 91-Mukhed Assembly Constituency of Maharashtra and 167-Triupati Assembly Constituency of Andhra Pradesh, and is satisfied that sufficient number of Electronic Voting Machines are available for taking the Poll in the abovementioned Parliamentary and Assembly constituencies. The polling personnel are well trained in efficient handling of the Electronic Voting Machines and the electors are also fully conversant with the operation of the Electronic Voting Machines;
- 3. Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India hereby specifies 14-Bangaon (SC) Parliamentary Constituency of West Bengal and 27-Liromoba (ST) Assembly Constituency of Arunachal Pradesh, 11-Panaji Assembly Constituency of Goa, 139-Srirangam Assembly Constituency of Tamil Nadu, 88-Krishnaganj (SC) Assembly Constituency of West Bengal, 91-Mukhed Assembly Constituency of Maharashtra and 167-Triupati Assembly Constituency of Andhra Pradesh, from where bye-elections have been notified on 19-1-2015, as the Constituencies in which the votes at the current bye elections, shall be given and recorded by means of Electronic Voting Machines in the manner prescribed under the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, and the supplementary instructions issued by the Commission from time to time on the subject.

(By Order)

ANUJ JAIPURIAR, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

SANDEEP SAXENA,

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 5th February, 2015. ELECTION COMMISSION'S NOTIFICATION REGARDING EXIT POLL AT THE BYE-ELECTION TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 139. SRIRANGAM ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY.

No. SRO G-6/2015.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 02nd February, 2015 [13 Magha, 1936 (Saka)] is published:—

No. 576/EXIT/2015/SDR-Vol. I:—Whereas, the schedule for the Bye elections to the Parliamentary Constituency of 14-Bangaon (SC) Parliamentary Constituency of West Bengal and 27-Liromoba (ST) Assembly Constituency of Arunachal Pradesh, 11-Panaji Assembly Constituency of Goa, 139-Srirangam Assembly Constituency of Tamil Nadu, 88-Krishnaganj (SC) Assembly Constituency of West Bengal, 91-Mukhed Assembly Constituency of Maharashtra and 167-Triupati Assembly Constituency of Andhra Pradesh have been notified by the Commission on 19th January, 2015 under Section 30 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951.

- 2. And whereas, as per the provisions of Section 126A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, there shall be restriction on conduct of any exit poll and publication and dissemination of result of such exit poll during such period, as may be notified by the Election Commission in this regard;
- 3. Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers under sub-section (1) of Section 126A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, the Election Commission, having regard to the provisions of sub-section (2) of the said Section, hereby notifies the period between 7.00 A.M. and 6.30 P.M. on 13-02-2015 (Friday), as the period during which conducting any exit poll and publishing or publicizing by means of the print or electronic media or dissemination in any other manner, whatsoever, the result of any exit poll in connection with the current Bye Elections to the Parliamentary Constituency of 14-Bangaon (SC) Parliamentary Constituency of West Bengal and 27-Liromoba (ST) Assembly Constituency of Arunachal Pradesh, 11-Panaji Assembly Constituency of Goa, 139-Srirangam Assembly Constituency of Tamil Nadu, 88-Krishnaganj (SC) Assembly Constituency of West Bengal, 91-Mukhed Assembly Constituency of Maharashtra and 167-Triupati Assembly Constituency of Andhra Pradesh notified on 19th January, 2015, shall be prohibited.
- 4. It is further clarified that under Section 126(1)(b) of the R.P. Act, 1951, displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours ending with the hour fixed for conclusion of poll in connection with aforesaid bye elections.

(By Order)

ANUJ JAIPURIAR, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 5th February, 2015. SANDEEP SAXENA,

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.