[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 212]

CHENNAI, MONDAY, OCTOBER 12, 2015 Purattasi 25, Manmadha, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2046

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

EXTENSION OF PERIOD FOR FILING OF CLAIMS AND OBJECTIONS IN THE CONSTITUENCIES OF THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

No. SRO G-29/2015.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, New Delhi, dated 8th October, 2015 [16 Asvina, 1937 (Saka)] is published:

No. 23/2015-ERS: Whereas, the Commission had announced the schedule for special summary revision of electoral rolls with reference to 1st January, 2016 as the qualifying date in all States / UTs including Tamil Nadu (except Bihar), *vide* its letter No.23/2015-ERS, dated 31st July, 2015; and

Whereas, the period of filing claims and objections in Tamil Nadu was originally fixed from 15th September, 2015 to 14th October, 2015; and

Whereas, the draft rolls were published on 15th September, 2015 in the State; and

Whereas, the Chief Electoral Officer, Tamil Nadu has requested for extension of the period of filing claims and objections so as to extend electoral services to the general public through digital platform; and

Whereas, the Commission has considered the matter and has decided that the period of filing of claims and objections should be extended up to 24th October, 2015;

Now therefore, the Commission, in exercise of power conferred by proviso to Rule 12 of Registration of Electors Rules 1960, extends, for all Assembly Constituencies in the State of Tamil Nadu, the period for filing claims and objections up to 24th October, 2015 (Saturday), for ongoing Special Summary Revision of electoral roll with reference to 1st January, 2016 as the qualifying date.

(By Order)

NARENDRA N. BUTOLIA.

Secretary,

Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, SANDEEP SAXENA,
Chennai-600 009,
12th October, 2015.

SANDEEP SAXENA,
Chief Electoral Officer and
Principal Secretary to Government,
Public (Elections) Department.