[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 131]

CHENNAI, FRIDAY, JUNE 12, 2015 Vaikasi 29, Manmadha, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2046

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S NOTIFICATION REGARDING EXIT POLL AT THE BYE-ELECTION TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 11. DR. RADHAKRISHNAN NAGAR ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY

No. SRO G-16/2015.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 5th June, 2015 is published:—

- **No. 576/EXIT/2015/SDR/Vol. I:**—Whereas, the schedule for the By-Elections against casual vacancies in the Legislative Assemblies of Meghalaya, Kerala, Tripura, Madhya Pradesh and Tamil Nadu have been announced by the Commission *vide* Press Note No. ECI/PN/35/2015 dated 26th May, 2015.
- 2. And whereas, as per the provisions of Section 126A of the R.P. Act, 1951, there shall be restrictions on conduct of any exit poll and publication and dissemination of result of such exit poll during such period as may be notified by the Election Commission in this regard;
- 3. Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers under sub-Section (1) of Section 126A of the R.P. Act, 1951, the Election Commission, having regard to the provisions of Sub-Section (2)(b) of the said Section, hereby **notifies the period between 7.00 A.M. and 5.30 P.M. on 27.06.2015 (Saturday),** as the period during which conducting any exit poll and publishing or publicizing by means of the print or electronic media or dissemination in any other manner, whatsoever, the result of any exit poll in connection with the said bye-elections announced *vide* the Commission's Press Note No.ECI/PN/35/2015, dated 26th May, 2015 from 59-Chokpot(ST) Assembly Constituency in Meghalaya, 136-Aravikkara Assembly Constituency in Kerala, 13-Pratapgarh(SC) & 6-Surma (SC) Assembly Constituencies in Tripura, 227-Garoth Assembly Constituency in Madhya Pradesh and 11-Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu shall be prohibited.
- 4. It is further clarified that under Section 126(1)(b) of the R.P. Act 1951, displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours ending with the hours fixed for conclusion of poll for the aforesaid bye-elections.

(By Order)

ANUJ JAIPURIAR,
Secretary,
Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 12th June, 2015.

SANDEEP SAXENA, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.