[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 129]

CHENNAI, WEDNESDAY, JUNE 10, 2015 Vaikasi 27, Manmadha, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2046

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

DIRECTION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S DIRECTION SPECIFYING THAT THE VOTES AT THE BYE-ELECTION TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 11. DR. RADHAKRISHNAN NAGAR ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY SHALL BE GIVEN AND RECORDED BY MEANS OF VOTING MACHINES.

No. SRO G-15/2015.

The following Direction of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 5th June, 2015 is published:—

No. 576/3/EVM/2015/SDR/Vol. I:—Whereas, Section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, provides that the giving and recording of votes by Voting Machines in such manner as may be prescribed, may be adopted in such constituencies as the Election Commission of India may, having regard to the circumstances of each case specify; and

- 2. Whereas, the Commission has considered the circumstances in 59-Chokpot (ST) Assembly Constituency in Meghalaya, 136-Aruvikkara Assembly Constituency in Kerala, 13-Pratapgarh (SC) and 46-Surma (SC) Assembly Constituencies in Tripura, 227-Garoth Assembly Constituency in Madhya Pradesh and 11-Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu and is satisfied that sufficient number of Electronic Voting Machines are available for taking the poll in the abovementioned Assembly Constituencies, the polling personnel are well trained in efficient handling of the Electronic Voting Machines and the electors are also fully conversant with the operation of the Electronic Voting Machines;
- 3. Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India hereby specifies 59-Chokpot (ST) Assembly Constituency in Meghalaya, 136-Aruvikkara Assembly Constituency in Kerala, 13-Pratapgarh (SC) and 46-Surma (SC) Assembly Constituencies in Tripura, 227-Garoth Assembly Constituency in Madhya Pradesh and 11-Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu as the Constituencies in which the votes at the current bye-elections to the Legislative Assemblies from the said Constituencies notified on 03-06-2015 (Wednesday), shall be given and recorded by means of Electronic Voting Machines in the manner prescribed under the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, and the supplementary instructions issued by the Commission from time to time on the subject.

(By Order)

ANUJ JAIPURIAR, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

SANDEEP SAXENA,

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 10th June, 2015.