

TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 118]

CHENNAI, WEDNESDAY, JUNE 3, 2015 Vaikasi 20, Manmadha, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2046

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES OF BYE-ELECTION TO TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 11. DR. RADHAKRISHNAN NAGAR ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL TO FILL A VACANCY CAUSED BY THE RESIGNATION OF A MEMBER.

No. SRO G-13/2015.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 3rd June, 2015 [13 Jyaistha, 1937 (Saka)] is published:-

No. 100/TN-LA/2/2015:—Whereas, the seat of Sh. P. Vetrivel, in the Legislative Assembly of the Tamil Nadu State, elected from 11. Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency, has become vacant on 17-05-2015, by reason of his resignation; and

2. Whereas, a bye-election is to be held for the purpose of filling the vacancy so caused; and

3. Now, therefore, in pursuance of sub-section (1) of Section 150, and Sections 30 and 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India hereby:-

(A) Calls upon the said 11. Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency in the State of Tamil Nadu to elect, before the 02-07-2015 (Thursday) and in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, a person, for the purpose of filling the said vacancy in the Legislative Assembly of the State; and

(B) Appoints, with respect to the said election,-

- (a) the 10-06-2015 (Wednesday), as the last date for making nominations;
- (b) the 11-06-2015 (Thursday), as the date for scrutiny of nominations;
- (c) the 13-06-2015 (Saturday), as the last date for withdrawal of candidatures;
- (d) the 27-06-2015 (Saturday), as the date, on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken;
- (e) the 02-07-2015 (Thursday), as the date before which the election shall be completed, and

(C) Fixes the hours from 8.00 A.M. to 5.00 P.M. as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken on the date specified above for the election.

(By Order)

R.K. SRIVASTAVA, Principal Secretary, Election Commission of India.

SANDEEP SAXENA,

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 3rd June, 2015.